Selfies with LGBT posters

I’m staying at a college campus this week for a camp with a group from my school.

Tonight, as we were walking back from dinner, one of my male friends said to my female friend, “Oh, hey, we need to go take a picture next to the gay and lesbian sign like we were talking about!”

She responded, “Oh, yeah! Let’s go do that now!”

They deviated from our path back to our rooms, recruiting one of my other friends to take the picture for them.

I tried to keep my cool, but luckily no one was looking at the redness of my face.

I was walking with another of my female friends and she asked, “Where are they going? To take a picture in front of a gay and lesbian sign?”

“I think so,” I said. “Is that supposed to be funny…?”

“Ha…ha…” she said, clearly indicating that she didn’t think it was very funny.

I’m deeply uncomfortable that my friends mocked LGBT people.

Maybe I don’t know the full story. Maybe there’s some information I’m missing that would explain why they wanted to take a picture there. I hope I’m missing something. I hope I’m mistaken in thinking they were trying to make a joke and that there was actually an underlying purpose.

I hope.

 

Leave a Reply

